Welcome to eLearner Network

Search - Posts
Search - Categories
Search - Contacts
Search - Content
Search - News Feeds
Search - Tags

Mayor Emanuel and CPS Announce 2017 Class for Principal Leadership Programs

Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

Wednesday, May 31, 2017      

For more information, contact:
CPS Office of Communications
Phone: 773-553-1620

CHICAGO — Mayor Rahm Emanuel and Chicago Public Schools today announced the expansion of the city’s vanguard principal leadership programs, the Independent Schools Principals (ISP) and the Chicago Principals Fellowship, which together help develop professional capacity and allow the city’s top education leaders to drive success at the school level. The ISP program, which has expanded by more than 60 percent with the 2017 class, rewards high-performing principals with more autonomy, less red tape and more opportunities to innovate. CPS also announced the latest class for the Chicago Principals Fellowship program, an executive leadership program for top principals.
“The success of our schools directly reflects the strong leadership that guides them. I want to congratulate each one of our principals for the unprecedented academic gains, record-high test scores and growing graduation rates that our students and schools are achieving today,” said Mayor Rahm Emanuel.  “By empowering our leading principals with greater flexibility, we allow them to innovate in ways that ensure our students receive a high-quality education tailored to meet their needs, while putting them on a path to a brighter future.”
“These principals embody the best of CPS: leadership, commitment and innovation and we couldn't be more happy to welcome them to our latest class of independent principals," said CPS CEO Forrest Claypool. "We look forward to seeing all they can continue to do to build on their students' remarkable success.” 
“Chicago students would not be where they are today without excellent principals to guide our schools to record heights,” said CPS Chief Education Officer Dr. Janice K. Jackson. “ISP and the Chicago Principals Fellowship have given proven principals new opportunities to learn, grow and innovate, and we are proud to invite a record number of the district’s top school leaders into programs that will help them accelerate the tremendous progress our schools have already made.”
ISP: Providing Top Principals with Greater Autonomy to Lead School Growth
The ISP program was developed to provide high performing principals with the flexibility to innovate and the autonomy to operate their schools with reduced oversight from Central Office.
In addition to providing proven principals with the flexibility to lead and innovate, ISPs have the opportunity to engage in a unique, peer-to-peer professional learning community to discuss and share effective practices among their peers. Principal effectiveness rises as principals gain more experience, and through this innovative program the district is creating incentives to retain top principals and provide them with the professional flexibility to push their schools in a positive direction.
There are currently 46 principals serving as ISPs and, with addition of the 29 principals selected this year, the network will grow to 75. This will be the largest ISP class in program history, an expansion of more than 60 percent from last year and a 300 percent expansion from the initial ISP class of 2015 principals during the program's inaugural year in 2015-16. 
The following 29 principals will join the ISP Network:
Sarah Abedelal – Brennemann Elementary School Karen Anderson – James Ward Elementary School Michael Biela – Admiral Hyman George Rickover Naval Academy Patricia Brekke – Back of the Yards College Preparatory High School July Cyrwus – Lorca Elementary School Carolyn Eggert – DeVry University Advantage Academy Jeremy Feiwell – Lazaro Cardenas Elementary School Erin Galfer – Marine Leadership Academy Sheldon House – Simeon Career Academy Kurt Jones – Franklin Fine Arts Gwen Kasper-Couty – Sabin Dual Language Magnet School William Klee – Jonathan Burr Elementary School Lillian Lazu – Little Village Academy Joshua Long – Southside Occupational Academy High School Renee Mackin – Carl Von Linne Elementary Estuardo Mazin – Barry Elementary School Julie McGlade – John W. Garvy Elementary School Beulah McLoyd – Dyett High School Richard Morris – Burroughs Elementary School Carmen Navarro – Azuela Elementary School Wendy Oleksy – Christopher Columbus Elementary School Ekaterini Panagakis – Charles H. Wacker Elementary School Anna Pavichevich – Amundsen High School Mary Kay Richardson – Thomas Early Childhood Center Mauricio Segovia – Darwin Elementary Joseph Shoffner – McClellan Elementary School Efren Toledo – O. A. Thorp Scholastic Academy Gerardo Trujillo – Louis Pasteur Elementary School Michelle Willis – Frank L. Gillespie Elementary School Chicago Principals Fellowship: Developing Professional Capacity to Strengthen School Leaders
The District and The Chicago Public Education Fund are also announcing a new class of 30 principals who will participate in the Chicago Principals Fellowship program, a 12-month executive leadership development program designed for and with Chicago’s most talented principals. The announcement today marks the largest class of Principal Fellows, increasing from 25 fellows during the 2016-17 school year and 21 Fellows in the initial class in the 2014-15 school year.
Fellows participate in a rigorous executive leadership program provided by the Center for Nonprofit Management at the Kellogg School of Business at Northwestern University. They also receive leadership evaluation, participate in group leadership coaching and meet monthly with Chief Education Officer Jackson to learn about and develop district policy. To participate, all Principal Fellows commit to continuing to lead in CPS for at least three years.
The following 30 principals will participate in the new class of Principal Fellows:
Manuel Adrianzen – Nobel Elementary School Christopher Allen – Uno-Spc Daniel Zizumbo Charter School Karime Asaf – Moos Elementary LaWanda Bishop – Rudyard Kipling Elementary School Tiffany Brown – Wendell Smith Elementary School  Jewel Diaz – Ashburn Community Elementary School Monique Dockery – Oliver S. Westcott Elementary School John Fitzpatrick – Josephine Locke Elementary School Linnea Garrett – Chicago Tech Academy Nneka Gunn – John F. Eberhart Elementary School Stephen Harden – D R Cameron Elementary School Angelica Herrera-Vest – Josefa Ortiz de Dominguez Elementary School Antigoni Lambrinides-Sofios – West Ridge Elementary School Kristie Langbehn – Casals School of Excellence Laura LeMone – Von Steuben Metropolitan High School Nathan Manaen – Ravenswood Elementary School Kelly Mest – Northside College Prep Nicole Milberg – Mitchell Elementary School Courtney Mix-Binish – Uno Bartolome De Las Casas Charter School Christine Munns – Sauganash Elementary School  Naomi Nakayama – Lyman A. Budlong Elementary School Kristin Novy – Christopher House Elementary Konstantinos Patsiopoulos – Charles N. Holden Elementary School Sherry Pirtle – Alex Haley Academy Rodolfo Rojas – Edward Everett Elementary School Shirley Scott -- Ellington Elementary School Adam Stich – Hitch Elementary School Allison Tingwall – Curie Metro High School Takeshi White-James – Avalon Park Elementary School Ferdinand Wipachit – Phoenix Military Academy  Chicago Public Schools serves 381,000 students in 652 schools. It is the nation’s third-largest school district.

Read More

Sign In Credentials

We Challenge Human Assumptions About the Unknown.